Contact Us

The Union Democrat is the Mother Lode’s leading information source. The newspaper was founded in 1854 in the Central Sierra Foothills during the California gold rush. Published Tuesday through Saturday, The Union Democrat reaches more than 12,500 readers each day. The newspaper’s website, www.uniondemocrat.com, averages 500,000 page views per month.

The main office is located in the heart of Sonora’s downtown historic district at 84 South Washington Street. The news staff, business, advertising and administrative employees work out of this two-story structure – a former bank building constructed in 1913.

The Union Democrat is recognized as the dominant news and advertising source in the Mother Lode region – encompassing Tuolumne and Calaveras counties. The newspaper is proud of its commitment to and participation in the community. Donations are provided annually to over 100 local fundraisers, non-profits, service clubs and organizations. Some of the sponsorships, support and memberships include: five local Chambers of Commerce, Tuolumne County Historical Society, Sierra Senior Services, Meals on Wheels, Sierra Repertory Theater, Columbia Fly-In, Habitat for Humanity, Vietnam Veterans, Crisis Line, Local Rotary, Kiwanis, Lions and Elks Clubs, Humane Society, Sober Graduation, ICES Children’s Fair, Mother Lode Ombudsman, and support of area high school sports and academic programs.

The management team includes Lyn Riddle, editor; Peggy Pietrowicz, Publisher; Derek Rosen, Operations Director.

The newspaper has developed an excellent Newspaper in Education (NIE) program with the help of local businesses and community partners. More than 300 local students in 25 classrooms receive copies of the newspaper to study current events and other topics.

Contact Us

The Union Democrat

84 S. Washington St.

Sonora, CA 95370

Phone: (209) 532-7151

Circulation Customer Service: (209) 533-3614

Circulation email: ud_circ@uniondemocrat.com

To place an obituary, obits_sonora@uniondemocrat.com 

To contact NIE, udnie@uniondemocrat.com 

Editorial Newsroom

Lyn Riddle

Editor

editor@uniondemocrat.com

Letters to the Editor

letters@uniondemocrat.com

Weekender Editor

weekender@uniondemocrat.com

Melissa Blanton

Night Editor

mblanton@uniondemocrat.com

Margie Thompson

Features Editor

mthompson@uniondemocrat.com

Alex MacLean, staff writer, amaclean@uniondemocrat.com

Guy McCarthy, sports reporter, gmccarthy@uniondemocrat.com

Giuseppe Ricapito, staff writer, gricapito@uniondemocrat.com

Maggie Beck, photographer, mbeck@uniondemocrat.com

Operations

Peggy Pietrowicz

Publisher

ppietrowicz@uniondemocrat.com

Derek Rosen

Operations Director

drosen@uniondemocrat.com

Advertising

Retail Advertising Sales

ads@uniondemocrat.com

Classified Advertising Sales

class@uniondemocrat.com

Circulation

Circulation Customer Service

ud_circ@uniondemocrat.com