The Union Democrat Sports Department

The California State 100-yard Rifle Championship and Dean Alley Memorial Trophy Match, a two-day event, began Friday morning and ended Saturday afternoon with a barbecue and awards at the Tuolumne County Sheriff's Posse Grounds

Robert Taylor II, of Columbia, won Friday's match shooting a total of 495 with 20X out of 500 possible. Jim O'Connell, of Alameda, was High Senior with 491-15X. Groveland's Sagen Maddalena won first High Master with a score of 492-16X.

John Henderson, of Sonora, took first Master with 488-11X followed by Conar Braly, of Copperopolis, with a 485-11X. Todd Greenwood, of Ceres, won first Expert shooting 478-14X with Peter Tidball, of Jamestown, in second with a 469-8X. Dave Tehan was third Expert with a score of 469-5X. First Marksman went to Jamestown's Tyler Buck with a 426-5X.Saturday's match almost doubled in size with competitors for the CRPA State Championship.

Match winner went to Jared Perry, of Porterville, shooting a perfect 500 with 20X's and setting a new national record for the 100-Yard National Match Course-Metallic Sights replacing Trenton Hering, of Corvalis, Oregon's record of 499-19X set in June 2007-New record for Open and Civilian class. Perry also won the slowfire aggregate.

The other record was broken by Marty Mayo, of Jamestown, shooting 199-8 in the slow prone position.The record will replace the Grand Senior record set in July 2010 by Gerald Tierney of Plymouth.First High

Master went to O'Connell with 494-23X who also won High Senior.Second place went to Chad Kurgan, of Murphys, with 494-17X.First Master was won by Morgan Owen of Sonora, who also won High Junior with a score of 487-13X.Forrest Greenwood, of Ceres, came in second with 482-8X, followed by Braly with 476-13X. Peter Tidball, of Jamestown, won first in a large class of Experts, shooting a 481-14X.Second went to Tehan shooting 476-7X, followed by Todd Greenwood with 475-7X in third and in fourth, Harry Swift, of El Sobrante, with a score of 470-9X.

Sophie Christensen, of Sonora, won first Sharpshooter, scoring a total of 464-7X.Rich Abalos, of Soulsbyville, won first Marksman shooting a 425-1X and Dave Stayer, of Sonora, came in second with 418-3X.First Unclassified went to Bill Kulik, of Mi Wuk, shooting a 375-1X.

The Dean Alley Memorial Trophy Award went to Taylor II, with a combined two day score of 988-56X.John Henderson, of Sonora, won the Old Military Rifle award in a field of seven competitors, shooting their 308 calibers with a score of 436-3X.