S’Ville’s Krieg named Co-MVP of MLL, Vallelunga is best lineman, Johnson top offensive player

The Union Democrat Sports Department

Summerville Bear seniors Tanner Krieg and Darren Vallelunga and

Calaveras Redskin senior Zack Johnson collected top football honors in

the Mother Lode League.

Krieg was named Co-Most Valuable Player of the MLL, Vallelunga

was named the Lineman of the Year and Johnson was the Offensive Player

of the Year.

Krieg broke the Summerville single-season rushing record gaining over 1,500 yards and helped lead the Bears into postseason.

Vallelunga was devastating on both sides of the ball and

Johnson, at quarterback, balanced the Redskins powerful offensive

attack, throwing for almost as many yards as they gained rushing.

The Bears, who finished in third place in the MLL, also placed

four players on the All-MLL First Team, all seniors - offensive tackle

Tyler Oliver, wide receiver Dalton Day, linebacker Trevor Larsson and

defensive end/outside linebacker Joey Brocchini.

The Bret Harte Bullfrogs had a pair of seniors voted to the

First Team, quarterback Chad Testa and defensive end/outside linebacker

Luke Brewer.

The Redskins, who finished the MLL in second place, had six on

the First Team, five seniors and a junior. The seniors were Noah

Shelgren (tackle), Brian Golston (tight end), Christian Moore (wide

receiver), Kellen Hodgson (running back), Joe Elliott (linebacker) and

junior Mike Seawell (defensive back).

Honored for Second Team were, from Summerville, Connor

Morningstar (senior, WR), Jesse Roberson (senior, QB), Colton Ebbers

(senior, DB), from Bret Harte, Rodney Riner (senior, T), Conor Zumbach

(senior, RB), Jared Taylor (junior, DL), Logan Lowe (sophomore, LB),

Peter Conrado (junior, special teams), from Calaveras, Blake Ehlers

(junior, G), Logan Sullivan (junior, DL), Tai Yue (senior, DL), Emmett

Barrett (junior, DE/OLB), Dannie Gilmore (junior, LB) and Malachi

Stockdale (junior, defensive back).

Seniors Danny Brunolli, of Summerville, Jesse Acedo, of Bret

Harte, and Carlos Dominguez, of Calaveras, received Character awards.

The Union Democrat
This image is copyrighted.

Reach all of Sonora, Calaveras County, Tuolumne, Angels Camp, Twain Harte, & Jamestown with your items to sell.

Ads appear Online and in Print

View Classifieds Place an Ad

Connect with The Union Democrat

Union Democrat Newsstand

Saturday August 27, 2016

Read digital interactive editions of our publications

Read Today's Edition Take A Tour

More Publications by The Union Democrat

View All Publications
Calaveras High School moving on without a mascot


Some of the most iconic figures go by only one name. Prince. ... more

Bears hope to bring winning ways back to Tuolumne


The Summerville Bears are the “Little Engines” of the Mother Lode League. ... more

Traditional powerhouse wants to get back MLL title


The last time Calaveras High School played two consecutive seasons without winning ... more

Sonora hosts 3-way scrimmage Saturday


An important evaluation process will take place Saturday morning when the Sonora ... more

Wahlbrink takes over Sonora volleyball program


Amy Wahlbrink finally has her dream job. Wahlbrink has been a volleyball ... more