Bill Rozak

The Tuolumne County Hall of Fame will have 39 new members inducted during a ceremony scheduled for Aug. 13 at Standard Park.

After gathering nominations and input for the last two years, the six-person committee came to a decision on who met the criteria and they include one sponsor, six originating teams, three umpires and 29 players/ coaches.

"We haven't had anybody new in the Hall of Fame since 1994," said

committee member and new inductee Elaine Wolfgang. "We decided to

nominate two or three deserving players for every year gone by."

The new members are: Jon Abernathy, Steve Becht, Betsy Borda, Don

Burns, Dale Clifton, Jeff Darone (umpire), Greg Dunn, Eric DuTemple,

Walt Fernandes (umpire), Wendy Fischer, Doralyn Foletti, Jim Gullion,

Rick Hendrix, Bob King, Julie Laszlo, Janet Lingo, Marshall "Mac"

MacMaster, Lorri Meza, Randy Moss, Joe Pimentel, Harry Ray (umpire)

Tony Reyes, Kevin Sauls, Jim Schultz, Froane Sinclair, Karen Sinclair,

Barbara Smith, Kerrie (Schreve) Webb, Renee Wessel, Steve "Papa"

Whitney, Elaine Wolfgang, sponsor Terzich & Wilson and teams

Running Bear, California Crew, Tuolumne County Recreation Department,

Foster Freeze, Key Real Estate and Elliot Insurance/Rainbow


The 39 new members will join 12 already enshrined.

The Hall of Fame began in 1988 with fastpitch ace Bud Castle and

Barbara Persson, a longtime women's fastpitch and slowpitch star, being

the first two inducted in the inaugural Class of 1988. Sarah Kiriluk of

women's fastpitch and slowpitch, Bummy Keefe of men's fastpitch and

Stan Cross of men's slowpitch were added in 1990; Erline Heldstab of

women's slowpitch, Bob Buck of men's fastpitch, umpire Slim Day and

umpire and men's slowpitch player Louis Castner were inducted in 1991;

umpire and men's slowpitch player Vic Day and men's fastpitch hurler

Bob Pedro were honored in 1993; and the last inductee was the late

fastpitch ace Wally Berry in 1994.

A monument to Berry stands behind the first-base dugout on Field 4

at Standard Park, home of the county softball program since 1983.

In recognition of all the inductees, their names will be engraved

on a large perpetual plaque that will be permanently mounted on the

snack shack building wall for all to see.

There are three criteria to be nominated for the Hall of Fame:

• Must have played in Tuolumne County Recreation Department or ACOR leagues for a substantial amount of time.

• Must have contributed to the softball programs with an encouraging, positive attitude and good sportsmanship.

• Must have made a significant contribution to softball in Tuolumne County.

The Hall of Fame committee is Elaine Wolfgang, Jon Abernathy, Jeff Darone, Jim Schultz, Bob Pedro and Barbara Persson.

"It kind of surprised me to be nominated, said Wolfgang. "But it's

going to be fun getting everybody together. A lot of stuff has changed.

I'm really looking forward to it."

The induction ceremony on Saturday, Aug. 13 is open to the public

and runs from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. There will be a barbecue hamburger and

hot dog lunch for a $5 fee which will offset the cost of the awards.

There will also be games such as a throwing/pitching contest and if

everyone brings their bat, ball, and glove, there may be an

"ole-timers" Hall of Fame game.

For those interested in attending, or for more information, please RSVP by Aug. 8 by calling 532-2917 or 928-4618.