Lacey Peterson
The Union Democrat

The Sonora High School FFA chapter held its annual awards banquet Friday night at the Sheriff's Posse Grounds in Jamestown and installed the officers for 2011-2012 school year.

Students who organized the event and slideshow, decorated in blue and yellow flowers and streamers with photos arranged on the tables. Students and agriculture boosters helped cook the tri-tip dinner, FFA members said.

Students enrolled in the FFA (formerly Future Farmers of America) program at Sonora High School receive awards for accomplishments they've made during the year, the new officers are installed and community members are honored for their support, said FFA secretary and sophomore Bailey Orpurt, 15.

The dinner was also a fundraiser for the FFA program. The students also

vote on the most-outstanding member of each class, and the outgoing

seniors vote on the new officers, vice-president, junior Kelly McEwen,


Students compete at regional and sometimes state levels in

parliamentary procedure, debate, and livestock judging, among other

things. Many students in FFA also raise animals, often auctioned at the

Mother Lode Fair each summer.

The new officers for the 2011-2012 school year are President Bailey

Orpurt (will be 10th-grade), Vice-President Wyatt Danicourt (11th),

Secretary Kelly McEwen (12th), Treasurer Cheyenne Wilson (10th),

Sentinel Nolan Brennan (12th), and Reporter Bobby Letora (12th).

The awards given were: Creed Speaker, Kasey O'Brien; Star Greenhand, Cheyenne Wilson;

Star Chapter Farmer, Bailey Orpurt; Honorary Chapter Farmer, Chase

Anderson, of Sonora; Patriotic Award, Josh Pfeiffer; Special awards:

Top Shop Hand, Grant Kutch and Branden Beyer; FFA American Degree,

Melissa Stegall, of Sonora; 2010 FFA State Conference Delegates: Wyatt

Danicourt, Joe Duarte; 2010-2011 officer team: senior Allie Serrano,

president, junior Kelly McEwen, vice president, sophomore Bailey

Orpurt, secretary, senior Brett Barton, treasurer, senior Grant Kutch,

reporter, and senior Wyatt Hope, sentinel; Made for Excellence Award:

Kasey O'Brien and Cheyenne Wilson; and Advanced Leadership Academy

Award: Bobby Lertora and Bailey Orpurt.