Printer in search of local talent

Ashley Archibald, The Union Democrat

No publisher? No problem.

A Calaveras County writing group has banded together to form a nonprofit publishing agency to empower local artists to get their work from concept to final product.

The Manzanita Writers Press, formed in late 2009, is comprised of

almost 13 writers, layout editors, managers and other staff. All of the

staff are volunteers, and the project is funded through community

support.

The press works is affiliated with the Calaveras County Arts

Council, a countywide effort to promote arts of all kinds in Calaveras.

According to editor Monika Rose, of San Andreas, the press aims to

continue in the tradition of Mark Twain and Bret Harte, renowned

authors who wrote in and about Calaveras County.

"It's a small literary press," Rose said. "We'd like to sponsor

fledgling writers and get them launched. We'll work with them

throughout the process."

Details of financing and any possible writer fees are still being worked out, she said.

The press evolved out of the group Writers Unlimited, a prose and

poetry workshop that puts out the publication "Manzanita: Poetry and

Prose of the Mother Lode and Sierra."

"A few of us got together and said, you know, we ought to form a cooperative press," Rose said.

But the group didn't want to limit itself to publishing and

promoting the work of people just from Writers Unlimited. Instead, they

wanted to create a press that could work with authors and artists to

move their work forward.

Being from the area and writing isn't qualification enough for

publication, Rose said. Though a process hasn't been set in stone,

publication may require going through an editing process with Writers

Unlimited, which still meets twice a month.

"We have to approve the book on criteria of excellence," Rose said.

"The author has to go through the gauntlet. We want to work with the

writer to (make the book) the best it can possibly be."

Although Writers Unlimited puts out the "Manzanita" compilations,

books that reach almost 200 pages full of poetry and writings of people

who work with the group, this is the first time it has tried to expand

its efforts to novels and other forms of publication.

It's a rough time to be learning the business.

"Right now, in the publishing business, we don't know what's going to happen," Rose said.

Rose hopes that the collective experience of the staff will push the Manzanita Writers Press past its incubation stage.

"It's a big mystery. We're going into uncharted territory," Rose

said. "On the other hand, we're so new and green, it's like we're

getting in on the ground floor."

The Manzanita Writers Press plans to put out two books in 2010 and two or three in 2011.

To contact the Manzanita Writers Press, e-mail Monika Rose at

mrosemanza@jps.com, and visit the Web site at

www.manzanitacalifornia.org.

11770979
The Union Democrat
This image is copyrighted.

Reach all of Sonora, Calaveras County, Tuolumne, Angels Camp, Twain Harte, & Jamestown with your items to sell.

Ads appear Online and in Print

View Classifieds Place an Ad

Connect with The Union Democrat

Union Democrat Newsstand

Friday August 26, 2016

Read digital interactive editions of our publications

Read Today's Edition Take A Tour

More Publications by The Union Democrat

View All Publications
Sheriff’s Office responds to critical report

08/22/2016

The Calaveras County Sheriff’s Office has responded to a grand jury report ... more

Nursed back to health, hawk flies free

08/19/2016

Sonora resident Laura Reid was driving on Tuolumne Road when she saw ... more

Woman dies of injuries in Highway 120 accident

08/24/2016

The woman who spent Monday night pinned in an SUV after an ... more

Convicted murderer Thomas Hyatt to remain in prison

08/23/2016

Convicted murderer Thomas Hyatt won’t be getting out of prison anytime soon. ... more

Three rescued from wreck near Yosemite

08/23/2016

Three German tourists were rescued Tuesday from the scene of a crash ... more