>Sonora / Tuolumne News, Sports, & Weather, Angels Camp, Twain Harte, Jamestown | Union Democrat

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow News arrow Sports arrow Local Sports arrow Seawell is top gridder in MLL

Seawell is top gridder in MLL

Calaveras Redskin Mike Seawell is the Mother Lode League’s top football player.

Seawell garnered the league’s MVP award as a senior. The shifty running back enjoyed a spectacular season, rushing for 1,252 yards and 18 touchdowns. He was also the team’s leading receiver with 429 yards and six touchdown receptions.

Redskin Danny Gilmore was the best defender in the MLL. The Calaveras senior linebacker earned the Defensive Player of the Year award, leading a strong unit that allowed just 15.2 points per game in league play.

Redskins fullback Connor Hamilton is one of 12 players from Tuolumne and Calaveras counties selected to the MLL’s first team. 

Hamilton, a junior, ran for 853 yards on 124 carries and 10 touchdowns.

Summerville junior quarterback Bryce Farrell threw for 1,563 yards and 11 touchdowns to receive first-team honors.

Catching Farrell’s passes this season was sophomore wide receiver Jake Fulkerson, a first-team performer. He had a breakout game against Amador, catching five passes for 103 yards and two touchdowns.

Redskins senior tight end Blake Ehlers was a first-teamer as well.

Calaveras center Emmett Barrett, Bret Harte left tackle Jared Taylor and Summerville’s Daniel Kristofic were all named to the first-team offensive line.

On the defensive side, the Redskins and Bullfrogs each had two players voted to the first team: defensive lineman Logan Sullivan, defensive back Malachi Stockdale, linebacker Logan Lowe and safety Jake Bailey. 

Summerville’s Brendan Brick was the lone Bear on the first-team defense.

Calaveras head coach Jason Weatherby was honored as the league’s Coach of the Year.

Bret Harte’s Mack McManus, Summerville’s Erik Wold and Calaveras’ Duncan Franklin were respected by the league with Character Awards.

Second-team honors went to center Tyler Stoy (Summerville), tackle Derek Rittenhouse (Calaveras), tackle Ross Whalen (Summerville), tackle Cameron Hiemann (Calaveras), tight end Dustin Lawson (Bret Harte), receiver J.T. McCready (Summerville), quarterback Justyn Thornburg (Calaveras), running back Humphrey Quirie (Summerville), defensive linemen John Boyes and Santino Combs (Calaveras), linebackers Erik Wold and Nathaniel Ulvevadet (Summerville), and defensive backs Peter Conrado (Bret Harte), T.J. Crenshaw (Calaveras) and Jordan Cashman (Summerville).

In other awards, Dustin Littlefield, of Amador, was the Co-Lineman of the Year with Argonaut’s Tyler Clays. Amador tailback Donald White was the Offensive Player of the Year.

Follow UnionDemocrat.com

Get Today's Top Headlines to your inbox

The Union Democrat print edition

The Union Democrat 11/25/15

View Paper

The Union Democrat is now online in a Replica E-edition form and publishes Tuesday through Saturday. E-Edition or Print Plus subscribers have full access.


If you are not a current subscriber, subscribe today for immediate access. Circulation: 209-533-3614

View all The Union Democrat print publications

Weekender by The Union Democrat

Weekly Arts and entertainment guide for Calaveras and Tuolumne counties

Weekender 11/19/15

View Guide

Available online every Friday or get it early in Thursday's print edition.

View past copies of the weekender

Local / Sports / Business / Stocks / News of Record / State / Nation/World / Obituaries / Submit News
Editorials / Letters
Union Democrat Photos / Community Photos /
Search Classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Homes / Rentals / Place an Ad
Online Extras
Weather / Local Business Links / Community Links / Photo Reprints
Union Democrat
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map

© Copyright 2001 - 2015 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use