>Sonora / Tuolumne News, Sports, & Weather, Angels Camp, Twain Harte, Jamestown | Union Democrat

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow News arrow Sports arrow Local Sports arrow S’Ville’s Krieg named Co-MVP of MLL, Vallelunga is best lineman, Johnson top offensive player

S’Ville’s Krieg named Co-MVP of MLL, Vallelunga is best lineman, Johnson top offensive player

Summerville Bear seniors Tanner Krieg and Darren Vallelunga and Calaveras Redskin senior Zack Johnson collected top football honors in the Mother Lode League.

Krieg was named Co-Most Valuable Player of the MLL, Vallelunga was named the Lineman of the Year and Johnson was the Offensive Player of the Year.

Krieg broke the Summerville single-season rushing record gaining over 1,500 yards and helped lead the Bears into postseason.

Vallelunga was devastating on both sides of the ball and Johnson, at quarterback, balanced the Redskins powerful offensive attack, throwing for almost as many yards as they gained rushing. 

The Bears, who finished in third place in the MLL, also placed four players on the All-MLL First Team, all seniors — offensive tackle Tyler Oliver, wide receiver Dalton Day, linebacker Trevor Larsson and defensive end/outside linebacker Joey Brocchini.

The Bret Harte Bullfrogs had a pair of seniors voted to the First Team, quarterback Chad Testa and defensive end/outside linebacker Luke Brewer.

The Redskins, who finished the MLL in second place, had six on the First Team, five seniors and a junior. The seniors were Noah Shelgren (tackle), Brian Golston (tight end), Christian Moore (wide receiver), Kellen Hodgson (running back), Joe Elliott (linebacker) and junior Mike Seawell (defensive back). 

Honored for Second Team were, from Summerville, Connor Morningstar (senior, WR), Jesse Roberson (senior, QB), Colton Ebbers (senior, DB), from Bret Harte, Rodney Riner (senior, T), Conor Zumbach (senior, RB), Jared Taylor (junior, DL), Logan Lowe (sophomore, LB), Peter Conrado (junior, special teams), from Calaveras, Blake Ehlers (junior, G), Logan Sullivan (junior, DL), Tai Yue (senior, DL), Emmett Barrett (junior, DE/OLB), Dannie Gilmore (junior, LB) and Malachi Stockdale (junior, defensive back).

Seniors Danny Brunolli, of Summerville, Jesse Acedo, of Bret Harte, and Carlos Dominguez, of Calaveras, received Character awards.

Follow UnionDemocrat.com

Get Today's Top Headlines to your inbox

The Union Democrat print edition

The Union Democrat 11/28/15

View Paper

The Union Democrat is now online in a Replica E-edition form and publishes Tuesday through Saturday. E-Edition or Print Plus subscribers have full access.


If you are not a current subscriber, subscribe today for immediate access. Circulation: 209-533-3614

View all The Union Democrat print publications

Weekender by The Union Democrat

Weekly Arts and entertainment guide for Calaveras and Tuolumne counties

Weekender 11/26/15

View Guide

Available online every Friday or get it early in Thursday's print edition.

View past copies of the weekender

Local / Sports / Business / Stocks / News of Record / State / Nation/World / Obituaries / Submit News
Editorials / Letters
Union Democrat Photos / Community Photos /
Search Classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Homes / Rentals / Place an Ad
Online Extras
Weather / Local Business Links / Community Links / Photo Reprints
Union Democrat
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map

© Copyright 2001 - 2015 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use