>Sonora / Tuolumne News, Sports, & Weather, Angels Camp, Twain Harte, Jamestown | Union Democrat

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow News arrow Sports arrow Local Sports arrow 3 Skins, a Bear on baseball MLL 1st team

3 Skins, a Bear on baseball MLL 1st team

Three Calaveras Redskins and one Summerville Bear were named to the 2014 first-team All-Mother Lode League baseball squad.

Calaveras’ Thomas Boitano, Mike Seawell and Wyatt Durham, and Summerville’s Bryce Farrell were all selected by MLL coaches to the first-team after standout performances this season.

Boitano was one of the league’s most consistent sluggers. The junior led the Redskins in 2014, hitting .459 at the plate with 34 hits and an area-best 34 RBI. He also blasted a home run and 11 doubles.

As a pitcher, Boitano finished second on the team with 39 strikeouts in 33 innings of service.

Seawell, a speedy senior, was a nightmare for opposing defenses when he reached base. He batted .307, which was the second best behind only Boitano, and stole 25 bases in as many attempts.

Durham, a left-handed pitcher, emerged as the Calaveras ace. The senior struck out a Redskin-high 45 batters. He finished with a 6-3 record and a 1.83 ERA in 65 innings tossed.

Farrell, the lone Summerville player earning a spot on the first-team, was one of the Bears’ top threats. The shortstop recorded a team-high 19 hits and drove in 10 runs, which was also the best mark for the Bears. The right-hander also generated a home run and two doubles, and ended his season hitting .284.

On the mound, Farrell tied for the team-lead with 26 strikeouts.

Linden’s Bailey Wright was the MLL’s Most Valuable Player and pitcher Justin Giovannoni was the Most Outstanding Player. Lions boss Chris Herrera was the Coach of the Year.

Other first-teamers were: Argonaut’s Miles Tomczak, Sean Purdy, Tyler Love, Matthew Huss and Linden Lions Eddie Murarik, Tommy Mayo and Shelby Lackey.

All-MLL second-team honorees: Aaron Avita (Argonaut), Austin Miguel (Bret Harte), Tyler Tafjen (Bret Harte), Jarrad Kirk (Calaveras), Malachi Stockdale (Calaveras), Josh Beal (Linden), James Berg (Linden), Ryan Alegre (Linden), Bret Holladay (Linden), Danny Robles (Summerville) and Darren Warnock (Summerville).

Wyatt Hockett (Bret Harte), Vincent Tarbot (Calaveras), Kai Bannister (Summerville), Michael Bonilla (Amador), Steven Casillas (Argonaut) and Beal all received Character Awards.

Follow UnionDemocrat.com

Get Today's Top Headlines to your inbox

The Union Democrat print edition

The Union Democrat 11/25/15

View Paper

The Union Democrat is now online in a Replica E-edition form and publishes Tuesday through Saturday. E-Edition or Print Plus subscribers have full access.


If you are not a current subscriber, subscribe today for immediate access. Circulation: 209-533-3614

View all The Union Democrat print publications

Weekender by The Union Democrat

Weekly Arts and entertainment guide for Calaveras and Tuolumne counties

Weekender 11/19/15

View Guide

Available online every Friday or get it early in Thursday's print edition.

View past copies of the weekender

Local / Sports / Business / Stocks / News of Record / State / Nation/World / Obituaries / Submit News
Editorials / Letters
Union Democrat Photos / Community Photos /
Search Classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Homes / Rentals / Place an Ad
Online Extras
Weather / Local Business Links / Community Links / Photo Reprints
Union Democrat
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map

© Copyright 2001 - 2015 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use