>Sonora / Tuolumne News, Sports, & Weather, Angels Camp, Twain Harte, Jamestown | Union Democrat

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow News arrow Business arrow Annual awards dinner held Fri.

Annual awards dinner held Fri.

    The Sonora High School FFA chapter held its annual awards banquet Friday night at the Sheriff’s Posse Grounds in Jamestown and installed the officers for 2011-2012 school year.
    Students who organized the event and slideshow, decorated in blue and yellow flowers and streamers with photos arranged on the tables. Students and agriculture boosters helped cook the tri-tip dinner, FFA members said.
    Students enrolled in the FFA (formerly Future Farmers of America) program at Sonora High School receive awards for accomplishments they’ve made during the year, the new officers are installed and community members are honored for their support, said FFA secretary and sophomore Bailey Orpurt, 15.
       The dinner was also a fundraiser for the FFA program. The students also vote on the most-outstanding member of each class, and the outgoing seniors vote on the new officers, vice-president, junior Kelly McEwen, 16.
    Students compete at regional and sometimes state levels in parliamentary procedure, debate, and livestock judging, among other things. Many students in FFA also raise animals, often auctioned at the Mother Lode Fair each summer.
    The new officers for the 2011-2012 school year are President Bailey Orpurt (will be 10th-grade), Vice-President Wyatt Danicourt (11th), Secretary Kelly McEwen (12th), Treasurer Cheyenne Wilson (10th), Sentinel Nolan Brennan (12th), and Reporter Bobby Letora (12th).
    The awards given were: Creed Speaker, Kasey O’Brien; Star Greenhand, Cheyenne Wilson;
    Star Chapter Farmer, Bailey Orpurt; Honorary Chapter Farmer, Chase Anderson, of Sonora; Patriotic Award, Josh Pfeiffer; Special awards: Top Shop Hand, Grant Kutch and Branden Beyer; FFA American Degree, Melissa Stegall, of Sonora; 2010 FFA State Conference Delegates: Wyatt Danicourt, Joe Duarte; 2010-2011 officer team: senior Allie Serrano, president, junior Kelly McEwen, vice president, sophomore Bailey Orpurt, secretary, senior Brett Barton, treasurer, senior Grant Kutch, reporter, and senior Wyatt Hope, sentinel; Made for Excellence Award: Kasey O’Brien and Cheyenne Wilson; and Advanced Leadership Academy Award: Bobby Lertora and Bailey Orpurt.

Follow UnionDemocrat.com

Get Today's Top Headlines to your inbox

The Union Democrat print edition

The Union Democrat 11/25/15

View Paper

The Union Democrat is now online in a Replica E-edition form and publishes Tuesday through Saturday. E-Edition or Print Plus subscribers have full access.


If you are not a current subscriber, subscribe today for immediate access. Circulation: 209-533-3614

View all The Union Democrat print publications

Weekender by The Union Democrat

Weekly Arts and entertainment guide for Calaveras and Tuolumne counties

Weekender 11/19/15

View Guide

Available online every Friday or get it early in Thursday's print edition.

View past copies of the weekender

Local / Sports / Business / Stocks / News of Record / State / Nation/World / Obituaries / Submit News
Editorials / Letters
Union Democrat Photos / Community Photos /
Search Classifieds / Jobs / Autos / Homes / Rentals / Place an Ad
Online Extras
Weather / Local Business Links / Community Links / Photo Reprints
Union Democrat
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Site Map

© Copyright 2001 - 2015 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use